Several sub-council changes for greater Athlone

In this file photograph, are from left, former PR councillor Garin Cavanagh, Rashid Adams, Anwar Adams and former Ward 48 councillor Magedien Davids, at a Sub-council meeting.

Apart from the ward boundary changes introduced last year – which affected seven of the nine wards in the Athlone News distribution area – the sub-councils have also undergone significant changes (“Ward boundaries change,” Athlone News, November 17, 2021)

The greater Athlone area used to be part of Sub-council 17, but this is no longer so.

Wards 30, 40, 44, 46 and 49 now form part of Sub-council 14.

Ward 30 covers parts of Manenberg, Tambo Village and Sherwood Park. Bonita Jacobs is the Ward 30 councillor.

Ward 40’s councillor is Bongani Ngcombolo, and that ward covers parts of Crossroads and Gugulethu.

Anthony Moses is the Ward 44 councillor, which covers parts of Gugulethu, Heideveld, Silvertown and Welcome Estate.

Ward 46 includes Hatton Estate, Surrey Estate, Newfields, Rylands, Gatesville, parts of Belgravia and Manenberg. Aslam Cassiem is the Ward 46 councillor.

The Ward 49 councillor is Rashid Adams, and the ward includes Kewtown, Bridgetown, Hazendal, Silvertown and Athlone.

Wards 47, 48, 58, 59, and 60 are now part of Sub-council 11.

The Ward 47 councillor is Antonio van der Rheede and it covers Hanover Park, Mountview and parts of Newfields.

The Ward 48 councillor is Dr Zahid Badroodien, and it covers parts of Athlone, Belgravia, Belthorn Estate, Lansdowne, Crawford and Pinati Estate.

Ward 58 consists of part of Claremont, Kenilworth, and Rondebosch and Katherine Christie is the councillor.

Ward 59 covers parts of Claremont, Kenilworth, Newlands, Rondebosch, and Rosebank. Mikhail Manuel is Ward 59’s councillor.

Mark Kleinschmidt is Ward 60’s councillor, which covers Rondebosch East, Sybrand Park, parts of Athlone and Lansdowne.

Wards 31, 50, 51, 52, 53 and 56 make up Sub-council 15.

Theresa Thompson is Ward 31 councillor, which covers Valhalla Park, parts of Bonteheuwel, Bishop Lavis, Montevideo, Charlesville, Montana and Kalksteenfontein.

Ward 50 covers the bulk of Bonteheuwel and Angus McKenzie is the ward councillor there.

The Ward 51 councillor is Lwazi Phakade and it covers parts of Langa.

Ward 52 also covers parts of Langa. Thembalani Nyamakazi is Ward 52’s councillor.

Riad Davids is the Ward 53 councillor. That ward covers Epping Industria 1, Pinelands, Thornton, Mowbray and Maitland Garden Village.

Helen Jacobs is Ward 56’s councillor. The ward covers Wingfield, Kensington, Windermere and Acacia Park.

Sub-councils 11 and 15 have their meetings at Fezeka Council Chambers in Gugulethu, while Sub-council 15 meets at the Pinelands Training Centre.