Ward 50’s Theresa Thompson takes a break after three terms

Theresa Thompson says she is stepping aside to make way for "young blood".

Angus Mckenzie, the DA candidate for Ward 50, currently held by the party, has been busy getting to grips with the social challenges facing Bonteheuwel in the run-up to the local government elections.

He hopes to fill the big shoes left behind by incumbent Theresa Thompson. Ms Thompson was the first DA ward councillor in Bonteheuwel and has weathered three terms. While still involved with the DA, she said she had decided to step aside to make way for some young blood and fresh ideas.

A former gangster has been helping Mr Mckenzie familiarise himself with the neighbourhood, pointing out some of the houses where drugs are sold.

Mr Mckenzie said: “The biggest issues in Bonteheuwel are not so much municipal matters, but social ills. Our community is plagued with social ills. My informant is reliable and a very brave person. He is a former gangster, who changed his life. This invaluable activity has allowed me to recognise and understand where the social ills, like gangsterism and drug abuse, are being festered in Bonteheuwel. This engagement provided much-needed intelligence and insight, which can be followed up by various task teams within the City of Cape Town’s safety and security directorate.

“The exercise has also allowed me to understand what type of intervention programmes may be necessary to assist the people of this magnificent community. Come August 3, if residents of Bonteheuwel elect me as their ward councillor, I will know where my priorities need to be set.”

Mr Mckenzie is the son of Patrick Mckenzie, a former ANC politician, who retired from politics in 2012, and Carol Mckenzie, who was also involved with politics.

In Ward 50, which covers Bonteheuwel, there are 17 ward councillor candidates, all representing political parties. This includes Awatief Abrahams from the Africa Muslim Party, Henry Arendse from the ACDP, Shanaaz Gafieldien from the ANC, Izgak de Jager from Al Jama-ah, Frederick Thys from Al Shura Party, Isgak Adams from Cape Muslim Congress, Valerie Brooks from the Cape Party, Bernard Jackson from Coloured Voice, Grant Mack from COPE, Angus Mckenzie from the DA, Johanna Florkowski from the EFF, Joanne Lewis from the Independent Civic Organisation of South Africa, Achmat Williams from the National Party South Africa, Michelle Calitz from the National People’s Party, Sivuyile Tutuva from the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania, John Prinsloo from the Patriotic Alliance and Rashaad Davids from the Vryheidsfront Plus.

Nine wards fall within the Athlone News’ distribution area. These are: Ward 42 (Manenberg and Gugulethu), Ward 44 (Heideveld, Vanguard Estate, Welcome Estate, Silvertown, Bridgetown and Gugulethu), Ward 45 (Manenberg), Ward 46 (Rylands, Surrey Estate, Newfields, Primrose Park, and part of Manenberg), Ward 47 (Hanover Park), Ward 48 (Crawford, Belthorn Estate, Penlyn Estate, Pinati Estate, Belgravia and part of Hanover Park), Ward 49 (Bokmakierie, Kewtown, Athlone, Alicedale, Hazendal and part of Silvertown), Ward 50 (Bonteheuwel) and Ward 60 (Crawford, Lansdowne, Rondebosch East, Sybrand Park, Garlandale).